IHA seeks nominations for two hydropower awards.

The International Hydropower Association is seeking nominations for its Mosonyi Award for Excellence in Hydropower and its Young Researcher Award.

The Mosonyi Award recognizes individuals within IHA’s membership for outstanding contributions to the sector related to:

  • A long-standing commitment or a recent initiative that has had a major impact
  • A specific hydropower project, the performance of an organization or the hydropower sector in general
  • An aspect of hydropower sustainability or a broad-ranging initiative, such as national- or basin-level strategic planning

The 2015 Mosonyi Award was presented to Luiz Gabriel Azevedo, Jean-Etienne Klimpt and Dr. Helen Locher.

The award is named after Emil Mosonyi, founding president of IHA, who passed away in 1998 and made major contributions during his long career in hydropower.

Nominations for candidates must be submitted before Dec. 31 at this link.

The Young Researcher Award recognizes and rewards emerging talent in the hydropower sector and was first presented in 2015, to Sami Khan.

Entrants must have been born after Jan. 1, 1987, and must submit an article showcasing their research no later than March 31, 2017. The research must largely (and demonstrably) have taken place since Jan. 1, 2016.

Up to five shortlisted entrants will have their work published on the IHA website with a full author profile, and one winner will receive a year’s membership to IHA and a free registration to the 2017 World Hydropower Congress in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login